Coal Age

MAY 2019

Coal Age Magazine - For more than 100 years, Coal Age has been the magazine that readers can trust for guidance and insight on this important industry.

Issue link: https://coal.epubxp.com/i/1125175

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 3 of 43

May 2016 2 www.coalage.com editor's note Coal Helps Turn the Tide in Australian Elections T he left lost another major election it thought it was sure to win. This time it was the election of Scott Morrison as Australia's prime minister. Coal mining and exports played a significant role in the outcome. Believ- ing that Australians wanted the government to fight cli- mate change, the mainstream media got it wrong again, similar to other recent national referendums, such as Brexit and the 2016 U.S. presidential election. The cen- ter-right Liberal-National Coalition government, which has had three leaders in six years, increased its hold on the Australian parliament while the Labor party lost seats in coal-rich Queensland and New South Wales. Morrison once held a lump of coal in parliament and reminded voters that no renewable energy source is as efficient as car- bon. Australia's Labor party had pledged a 45% emissions reduction tar- get and 50% renewables by 2030. Does this scenario sound familiar? Prime Minister Morrison celebrated the win standing with his family before a po- dium carrying the slogan, "Building Our Economy. Securing Your Future." It appears Australians voted in favor of sustained economic growth. The Australian election outcome should also provide some relief to proud Queensland coal operators. For years, they have watched as Queensland Labor Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk and her administration blocked investment by dragging their feet on the approval process. They listened in disbelief as she told the world's largest coal exporting region to prepare for "workforce reskilling." If she learns nothing else from this elec- tion, she should realize it is time to start listening to her constituents, espe- cially those supporting the Queensland mining industry. Immediately after Morrison won, Ian Macfarlane, CEO for the Queens- land Resource Council, said the Palaszczuk government needs to reaffirm its support for the resource industry and resource jobs, with a commitment for long-term royalty stability and a fair go for all projects. "You don't need to work in a mine to depend on a strong resources industry," Macfarlane said. "Our industry supports 315,000 Queenslanders, generates more than $60 billion for the economy and delivers 80% of the state's exports. We also support more than 14,000 small businesses across the state." Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison and the LNP, particularly through Resources Minister Matt Canavan, were quite outspoken about their support for coal and the resources industry. Queenslanders respond- ed and voted for jobs. Now, the Queensland Labor Government needs to stop moving the goal posts and let Adani Mining move forward with the Carmichael Project. www.coalage.com Coal Age, Volume 124, Issue 4, (ISSN 1040-7820) is published monthly ex- cept January and July, by Mining Media International, Inc., 11655 Central Parkway, Suite 306, Jacksonville, Florida 32224 (mining-media.com). Pe- riodicals postage paid at Jacksonville, FL, and additional mailing offices. Canada Post Publications Mail Agreement No. 41450540. Canada return address: PO Box 2600, Mississauga ON L4T 0A8, Email: subscriptions@ coalage.com. Current and back issues and additional resources, including subscription request forms and an editorial calendar, are available online at www.coalage.com. SUBSCRIPTION RATES: Free and controlled circulation to qualified subscribers. Visit www.coalage.com to subscribe. Non-qualified persons may subscribe at the following rates: US domestic addresses a 10 issue subscription, $75.00 USD, All addresses outside the USA a 10 issue subscription $125.00 USD. For subscriber services or to order single copies, contact Coal Age, c/o Stamats Data Management, 615 Fifth Street SE, Cedar Rapids IA 52401, 1-800-553- 8878 ext. 5028 or email subscriptions@coalage.com. ARCHIVES AND MICROFORM: This magazine is available for research and retrieval of selected archived articles from Proquest. For microform avail- ability, contact ProQuest at 800-521-0600 or +1.734.761.4700, or search the Serials in Microform listings at www.proquest.com. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Coal Age, 11655 Central Parkway, Suite 306, Jacksonville, FL 32224-2659. REPRINTS: Mining Media International, Inc., 11655 Central Parkway, Suite 306, Jacksonville, FL 32224 USA; phone: +1.904.721.2925, fax: +1.904.721.2930, www.mining-media.com PHOTOCOPIES: Authorization to photocopy articles for internal corporate, personal, or instructional use may be obtained from the Copyright Clear- ance Center (CCC) at +1.978.750.8400. Obtain further information at www.copyright.com. COPYRIGHT 2019: Coal Age, incorporating Coal and Coal Mining & Processing. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Steve Fiscor, Publisher & Editor-in-Chief sfiscor@mining-media.com BY STEVE FISCOR PUBLISHER & EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Mining Media International, Inc. 11655 Central Parkway, Suite 306 Jacksonville, Florida 32224 U.S.A. Phone: +1.904.721.2925 Fax: +1.904.721.2930 Editorial Publisher & Editor-in-Chief—Steve Fiscor, sfiscor@mining-media.com Associate Editor—Jennifer Jensen, jjensen@mining-media.com Technical Writer—Jesse Morton, jmorton@mining-media.com Contributing Editor—Russ Carter, rcarter@mining-media.com European Editor—Carly Leonida, cleonida@mining-media.com Latin American Editor—Oscar Martinez, omartinez@mining-media.com Graphic Designer—Tad Seabrook, tseabrook@mining-media.com Sales Midwest/Eastern U.S. & Canada, Sales—Victor Matteucci, vmatteucci@mining-media.com Western U.S., Canada & Australia—Frank Strazzulla, fstrazzulla@mining-media.com Scandinavia, UK and European Sales—Colm Barry, colm.barry@telia.com Germany, Austria & Switzerland Sales—Gerd Strasmann, info@strasmann-media.de Japan Sales—Masao Ishiguro, ma.ishiguro@w9.dion.ne.jp Production Manager—Dan Fitts, dfitts@mining-media.com Marketing Manager—Misty Valverde, mvalverde@mining-media.com

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Coal Age - MAY 2019